Tags

, , , ,

Any regular followers of this blog will know that I am passionate about history – especially medieval history. So I was thrilled and amazed with the discovery of the skeleton of Richard 111 recently – under a car park in Leicester!

If you are unaware of this you can read about it here, and in a million other sites. Fascinating stuff indeed. It is amazing, you just don’t know what or who you are walking on these days.

So as my little tribute I enclose a photo of Richard’s statue which is resident at Middleham Castle – Richard’s home in the North of England. And a fitting place it is too for a great King of England (I don’t think for a second Richard was a baddie – if you want my opinion on the murder of the Princes in the Tower – it was Buckingham)…

If you want to read my post of Middleham Castle you can do so here and if you want to read my post on Towton (where 28000 were slaughtered in a blizzard on Palm Sunday 1461 you can do so here – Richard’s brother Edward won the day)..

So here’s to King Richard 111 the last British warrior King to die in battle. God rest his soul.

King Richard 111 at Middleham Castle, Yorkshire.

King Richard 111 at Middleham Castle, Yorkshire.

