Tags

, , , ,

The little market town of Otley where I live is situated in the Wharfe Valley, with the Dales and moors to the North and West. East points to the ancient city of York and the North York Moors and directly behind us (South) is ‘The Chevin’ – a large(ish) hill which dominates and overlooks the town. The Chevin is full of mysterious carvings on the stones and contains an ancient forest. I will write more about The Chevin in a later post. There has been a settlement in Otley for a 1000 years, and I love living here..I love the history of the place and it’s little shops and markets and ginnels and the river- and of course the people.

Ā I can drive to The Chevin in about 10 mins or so and the views from the top are spectacular – it is called ‘Surprise View’ and on a good day you can see over towards Ilkley and Rombalds Moor, and even (on a very good day with binoculars) you can just make out York Minster – about 40 miles away.

I had come in from work a few days ago and was watching telly when Shirl said she thought that there would be a nice sunset this evening…she noticed the sky getting dark and the sun turning red.

Grabbing a camera, I thought the best vantage point would be ‘The Chevin’…I was there in a few minutes, just as the light was getting low and golden. I shot a few pics looking towards Ilkley and one or two of Otley and Arthington in the North East.

I was also joined by a runner who was taking shots on his phone and I managed to get a couple of silhouettes of him against the late sky.

Hope you like them.

