Tags

, , , , , , ,

Is the UK starting to dry out at last? I hope so. But some of the moors are still saturated.

I had arranged to take a friend of mine to visit ‘The Twelve Apostles‘ stone circle high on Burley moor yesterday (he didn’t know the way and asked me to go with him as I had been before). I was keen to visit another circle called ‘Grubstones‘ which is about half mile or so away and is apparently extremely hard to find as it is nestled in the heather and is quite remote.

I was just about to set off when I received a text from him saying he couldn’t make it – as I had told Shirl where I was going and had the map packed I thought I would go myself. The day started out promising and the weather forecast was for good, dry weather.

I arrived on the moors and set off in search of the circles. I soon reached the stone path across the moors – this path was laid through the boggy areas of the moors by the Lottery Heritage Fund and Bradford Council – it is very welcome, especially on a day when the moors are drenched.

I eventually got to the ‘Apostles’ and then it started to snow, hard. A blizzard – (although unfortunately it melted as soon as it hit the ground). It was in my eyes and swirling all around. I waited half an hour or so until it started to abate and decided to carry on towards the ‘Grubstones’ circle.

Unfortunately I slipped on some wet grass and twisted my ankle – nothing serious but it was quite painful and so I decided to limp home.

Never mind, Grubstones will be there another day (it has already been around for 4000 years) – and I got some better pics of the Twelve Apostles (I didn’t really like the previous ones I took – I thought they weren’t ‘mysterious’ or dramatic enough).

