Tags

, , , ,

I am spending more and more of my time on the moors. One reason is because they are so close to my home…just a few minutes drive and I am there. And they are totally fascinating and absorbing. Humans have been living on these moors for at least 9000 years – maybe longer. There are 5 known stone circles, a Neolithic cemetery and over 300 rock carvings – all within a couple of hours walk from where I park the car – I will write more about these in a later post.

The other evening I was returning home after visiting one of these circles and it was getting dark and the weather stormy (the best time to create dramatic photographs). I sheltered in a nest of stones away from the track and took these.

I hope it conveys something of the mystery and wildness of the moors, and why I love them so much.

 

 

