Tags

, ,

On Saturday I had a drive out – originally to look at some prehistoric graves, but like an idiot I had left the map at home. It was probably because I was excited to be out…I am not normally this careless! I know roughly where they were, but I didn’t want to walk too far as the knees are still recovering from an operation and the physio said to ‘take it easy’.

Anyway, I found myself driving down a lonely road past the mountain of Pen-y-ghent towards Littondale, and then home. The road then drops down to the tiny hamlet of ‘Halton Gill’ a gorgeous setting for a Dales village. Unspoilt and beautiful, nestled below the wild fell of Horse Head – it is a lovely location. And the fells are teeming with caves – I have spent much of my youth under these fells.

I parked up and enjoyed the views for half an hour – all I could hear were the sheep bleating on this idyllic summers morning. So I fired off a dozen shots, then it was back in the car and home in 25 minutes for a late breakfast.

