Tags

, , ,

The road to Pen-y-ghent from Halton Gill

I fancied a bimble one evening after work to explore the Giants Graves near the little hamlet of Halton Gill. I had known about them for many years, but have never visited them. Besides it was a nice Spring evening and I hadn’t been to this area of the Dales for awhile.

Penyghent - the 'Hill of Winds'

Pen-y-ghent – the ‘Hill of Winds’

Pen-y-ghent mountain (2,277 ft.) is an old friend of mine – I have climbed it many times, caved under it (almost) and even sledged down it! My mothers ashes are scattered on the top, and legend says a Celtic Princess is buried there. The Graves are next to the mountain.

Carefull of the lambs!

Carefull of the lambs!

I also was up for a good explore – to see if I could find any other prehistoric artefacts, so as it was a light evening I had planned to spend a few hours there.

As I walked through the field, I was spotted! Sheep…dozens of them! This has happened to me before (and most hikers have experienced this)…they thought I was bringing food – or maybe that I was their mum!

and they followed me…and they made a racket too!

I was quite concerned as the area I was exploring was full of Grykes – deep slippery cracks in the limestone pavement – just the place for a unwary sheep to injure itself (they rarely go on these rocks).

So I thought it was best to retreat – knowing the sheep would follow onto safer ground. And I went up nearby Darnbrook Fell instead.

Darnbrook Fell - on the other side of Penyghent - another good place for a hike

Darnbrook Fell – on the other side of Pen-y-ghent – another good place for a hike

And I waited awhile to make sure none were injured…and they all got off the grykes safely!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

