Tags

,

The river Wharfe is one of the most beautiful in England. It isn’t very long at 65 miles, but it’s course runs through some breathtaking scenery.

Named hverfr from the Old Norse (Vikings settled here in the 10th century and many of the hamlets and landscape features still bear their language).

I recently found myself wandering along it’s banks – it was a beautiful early morning and I walked through fields of bright yellow buttercups down to the rivers edge.

Crossing the other side of the river, I sat at the little Neolitihic stone circle at Yockenthwaite (another Viking name) and had a light breakfast before carrying on my way.

I walked alone for 2 or 3 miles, silently following the river upstream through some lush, green countryside, then turned around and headed home.

And had another breakfast when I got thereย  ๐Ÿ™‚

BTW – the photos are at their best when enlarged…

 

 

